The « accidental » Week in the Life : Tuesday

 

5 IMG_20150818_093111 copyFor a very long time, I thought I shouldn’t do this Week in the Life even if I enjoyed following it. I didn’t feel like immersing myself into a most repetitive life, repetitive to the point of boring. Nothing much to say about it. But things change and this week being during the holidays provide a different, less repetitive approach. It’s funny though because my love of stamping comes exactly from the fact that you can repeat the same pattern again and again. Why would my repeated patterns not be good enough then?

Pendant bien longtemps, je n’ai pas voulu participer à ce projet car je ne voulais pas me plonger et mettre en évidence ce côté répétitif jusqu’à l’ennui de notre vie. Les routines. Il n’y a pas grand chose à en dire, n’est-ce pas? Mais les choses évoluent, peut-être que de choisir une semaine de vacances permet d’être moins dans la répétition. Cela étant, la répétition à l’infini est précisément ce que j’aime dans le fait de travailler avec des tampons. Et puis, pourquoi ces routines n’auraient-elles pas aussi du bon?

Tuesday/ mardi

3 IMG_20150818_085434 copy

As always when her owners are away on holidays, she came and asked for attention, maybe food, but mostly attention. She was so loud this morning, I let her in, talked to her, gave her some much needed human presence. We get along just fine. I also decided to buy some cat food for her not knowing who was in charge of feeding her.

Comme de coutume en l’absence de ses maîtres, elle est venue nous voir, et ce matin, elle nous a gratifié de miaulements plus qu’insistants. Elle réclame des caresses, de la nourriture et surtout une présence humaine, me semble-t-il. Elle sait qu’elle trouvera cela à la maison. J’ai même décidé de mettre des croquettes sur la liste des courses ne sachant pas trop qui devait la nourrir et pensant qu’elle avait faim.

4 IMG_20150818_092635 copy

This is such a frequent habit. I’m a radio listener, as soon as I come in the kitchen or come home I’ll turn it on and will listen to the radio for hours. The TV screen remains dark as long as I’m alone at home. Of course, these days, the computer is never far.

J’écoute la radio. Allumée le matin ou dès que je rentre à la maison. Je peux l’écouter pendant des heures. Quand je suis seule à la maison, je n’allume pas la télévision, seule la radio me tient compagnie. Bon, évidemment l’écran de l’ordinateur n’est jamais bien loin et celui-ci fonctionne (trop) souvent.

 

5 IMG_20150818_093111 copy

Breakfast. My favourite meal. Lately I’ve had to stop myself doing all sort of small tasks in order to go and eat that breakfast. In July I read Getting Things Done by David Allen and I’m in this « two-minute » tasks phase and this phase will often delete my much needed breakfast. Today, the task was… feeding the cat! 

Petit-déjeuner. Mon repas préféré. Ces derniers temps, depuis ma lecture du livre de David Allen, j’ai tendance à me faire happer par les mini tâches de deux minutes et à me forcer à prendre mon petit- déjeuner avant que 10 mini tâches ne se soient intercalées. Aujourd’hui, c’est le chat qui a eu son petit-déjeuner avant moi.

6 IMG_20150818_113940 copy

8 IMG_20150818_122551 copyTuesday was definitely a slow day. I spent an awful long time trying to order some prints of our summer pictures. It took me hours. And as usual I felt so unhappy about it.

Mardi, petite journée. Il m’aura fallu des heures pour passer commande de nos photos de l’été. Cela m’énerve à chaque fois. Il faudra trouver une meilleure solution.

1 IMG__201508230__020724 copy

Vegetables for lunch.

Des légumes pour midi!

13 IMG_20150818_201634 copyVegetables for dinner. Trying a new recipe. I enjoy cooking (well most of the time, when I know the children won’t complain about something they don’t like).

Des légumes au dinner. Nouvelle recette à l’essai. J’aime bien cuisiner (la plupart du temps et surtout quand je sais que les enfants ne vont pas se plaindre car ils n’aiment pas).

11 IMG_20150818_195032 copy7:30pm : I had to go to the supermarket to get the mushrooms I had forgotten. I am so thankful for this slow time of the holidays. I can forget something and get it late without bringing the whole house down. 

Filer au supermarché avant la fermeture pour aller chercher les champignons oubliés le matin. Ce rythme lent et désordonné des vacances me convient bien. C’est une belle respiration avant le retour de la course de fond qui s’apparente si souvent à une course de vitesse.

Keep calm and carry on.

 

Un commentaire

Laisser un commentaire

